New Irish Works

New Irish Works

Selected by an international panel of 23 professionals, New Irish Works brings you a selection of 20 projects and 20 photographers representing the diverse range of practices coming from Ireland. New Irish Works 2016 is a year long project of 10 presentations and 20 publications that aims to highlight the great moment Irish Photography is experiencing.

The artists selected are Ailbhe Ní Bhriain, Aisling McCoy, Caitriona Dunnett, Dara McGrath, Daragh Soden, David Thomas Smith, Eanna de Freine, Emer Gillespie, Enda Bowe, Jan McCullough, Jill Quigley, Kate Nolan, Mandy O’Neill, Matthew Thompson, Miriam O’Connor, Noel Bowler, Robert McCormack, Roseanne Lynch, Shane Lynam, and Yvette Monahan.

Every month from July 2016 to July 2017, a special presentation will be hosted at The Library Project for two of the selected artists at a time. The presentation will include a display and a publication for each artist’s project. The first two artists presented, during PhotoIreland Festival 2016, were Daragh Soden and Mandy O’Neill.

As part of the project, PhotoIreland will bring New Irish Works abroad at key events like PhotoEspaña, with the support of the Embassy of Ireland in Madrid, and to Paris during Paris Photo, with the support of the Centre Culturel Irlandais and Culture Ireland.



Three years ago, New Irish Works presented a selection of 25 projects by photographers based in Ireland drawn from an open call. It is still today a solid representation of the growing diversity of practices on the island. In collaboration with several organisations, we programmed seven exhibitions in Limerick, Cork and Dublin, and launched a publication with the same name that has travelled wide and far.

It all was part of PhotoIreland Festival 2013, a year we dedicated in full to explore and promote local produce. Loads of positive things have happened ever since thanks to the project, and we know the book has helped materialising more than one opportunity for the photographers selected.

The New Irish Works project, and others like Greetings From IrelandHALFTONE, and the whole The Library Project itself, they have been quite successful in their own right promoting local artists and enriching the Irish ecosystem with much needed new voices, new curatorial approaches, and facilitating much deserved new opportunities. Indeed, all these, added to the hard work done by PhotoIreland Festival every year, they have invigorated a scene that oftentimes relied on migration as the route to success.

But we know that more needs to be done to promote local photographers and to further excite the scene; it is necessary to programme more relevant photographic exhibitions in Ireland throughout the year, opening up to the wealth of local talent we know exists. Also, we need to generate more publication opportunities, and achieve more international exposure. So we are cranking up a notch, again. This year, New Irish Works takes a new dimension, advancing the project with a different format.



In 2013, the jury was Karen McQuaid, curator at The Photographers Gallery, London; Michele Horrigan, artist and curator, Limerick; Ronan McCall, photographer and curator, Dublin; Pádraig Spillane and Pamela Condell, the curatorial team ‘Stag & Deer’, Cork; Moritz Neumüller and Ángel Luis González Fernández, from PhotoIreland Festival.

The 25 artists selected in 2013 were Barry W. Hughes, Cait Fahey, Caroline Mc Nally, Claudi Nir, David Thomas Smith, Dorje De Burgh, Dragana Jurisic, Ethna O’Regan, Grainne Quinlan, Ieva Baltaduonyte, Kevin Griffin, Linda Brownlee, Mandy O Neill, Martin Cregg, Maurice Gunning, Miriam O’ Connor, Muireann Brady, Patrick Hogan, Paul Gaffney, Robert Ellis, Roseanne Lynch, Shane Lynam, Shannon Guerrico, Stefania Sapio, and Yvette Monahan.

In 2016 the jury was:
Alejandro Castellote, Director, MA Contemporary Photography, Centro de la Imagen, Lima, PE
Ángel Luis González Fernández, Director of PhotoIreland.
Ângela Ferreira, Artistic Director, Encontros Da Imagem, Braga, PT
Azu Nwagbogu, Director, LagosPhoto Festival, Lagos, NG
Claire Monneraye, Curator, Australian Centre for Photography, Sydney, AU
Clara de Tezanos, Co-founder, La Fototeca, Guatemala, GU
Elsa Modin, Librarian, Hasselblad Foundation Library, Gothenburg, SE
Heidi Romano, Director & Founder, Photobook Melbourne, Melbourne, AU
Jenny Lindhe, Photographer, Curator & Publisher, Breadfield Gallery, Malmö, SE
Jörg Colberg, Founder & Editor, Conscientious Magazine, Northampton, US
Karen McQuaid, Curator, The Photographers Gallery, London, UK
Kim Knoppers, Curator, FOAM, Amsterdam, NL
Lars Boering, Managing Director, World Press Photo, Amsterdam, NL
Louise Clements, Artistic Director of QUAD & FORMAT, Derby, UK
Maira Dudareva, Head of Latvian Museum of Photography, Riga, LV
María García Yelo, Director, PhotoEspaña, Madrid, ES
Martino Marangoni, Founder & President, Studio Marangoni, Florence, IT
Miranda Driscoll, Artistic Director, Sirius Arts Centre, Cork, IE
Moritz Neumüller, Chair of the Board & Curatorial Advisor, PhotoIreland
Peggy Sue Amison, Artistic Director, East Wing, Dubai, AE
Seán Kissane, Curator, Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin, IE
Stacey Baker, Photo Editor, The New York Times Magazine, New York, US
Yumi Goto, Curator, Reminders Photography Stronghold, Tokyo, JP